skip to Main Content

FATEN KANAAN – A Mythology of Circles (DINKED NO.68)


Out of stock

SKU: FIRELP608X Category: Released: 13.11.2020


* Red & White “Inkspot” vinyl *

* Bespoke hand-numbered “Moon Phase” calendar *

* Spot gloss sleeve *

* Download code

* LTD edition of 300

* Exclusive to Dinked Edition


 A Mythology of Circles’ is the new album from Brooklyn-based composer and musical artist Faten Kanaan, her first to be released on Fire Records. Cyclical patterns and ‘variation through repetition’ are central to Faten’s music. Harmony and counterpoint are composed intuitively and treated as narrative tools- with sound, silence, and the resulting mystical relationship between notes used as gestures to tell a wordless story. The album is separated into a ‘dusk to evening’ side, and an ‘underworld/dream-state’ side; highlighting the myths of Ishtar, Inanna, Orpheus, Persephone, and others. 

Inspired by cinematic forms and mythological story structures: from sweeping landscapes and quiet romances, to patterned tensions and dream sequences; Faten brings an earthy, visceral touch to electronic music. In symbiosis with technology is an appreciation for the vulnerability of human limitations and nuances. 

All the sections are played in real time, neither looped nor sequenced- allowing for subtle changes to unfold. The use of VST sampled choral voices in this album embodies the forlorn state of technological acceleration, and the desire to return to a vulnerable human sound. The album art also explores a complicated relationship with technology: the statue comes from a series of digital replicas, returning in its last stage to a more intimate and handmade feel. 

Composed, produced and mixed by Faten Kanaan, the album was mastered by Heba Kadry (Bjork, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Julianna Barwick). 

Strangely haunting yet beautiful bouquet of nocturnal, electronic blooms ranging from poignant ambient vignettes to chamber-like pop, from Brooklyn’s Faten Kanaan- a gifted musical story-tellerBoomkat 


 Track List 

1. Patagonia Motet 1: Lago 

2. The Archer 

3. Hesperides 

4. Birds of Myrrh 

5. Night Tide / Anteros 

6. Sleepwalker 

7. Mist & Madrigal 

8. Rêve-Rivière 

9. Erewhon 

10. Patagonia Motet 2: Andes 

11. The North Wind 

12. The Heron 

13. Ishtar Terra 

Additional information

Weight300 g
Dimensions31.5 × 31.5 × .05 cm
Close search


Back To Top