skip to Main Content

Symmetry – Themes For An Imaginary Film (Italians Do It Better) 3LP


Out of stock


Released 2nd November 2018 – Triple LP set on ultra-clear windshield dipped in blood coloured vinyl.


 The neon lights that decorate a dive bar’s window cast a vivid reflection in rainwater on the pavement outside, as steam rises from deep beneath the ground. A slow pan across the scene, past alleys cast in shadow, twilit corners & glass doorways streaked with the mist of humid bodies fuming inside: the camera catches the denizens of an unnamed city, studying faces heavy with secrets too sad to bear. Cut to the motorway. Sleek cars barrel through the night. Sirens moan. Engines rev. You’re behind the wheel, over the edge as the credits roll.


This film does not exist — but the soundtrack does. Symmetry is Johnny Jewel & Nat Walker, & Themes For an Imaginary Film is their two-hour cinematic opus pokus, a sprawling score for a movie that screens only in your mind. A “conceptual tangent between Glass Candy, Chromatics, Mirage, & Desire’s more abstract sides,” as Jewel himself describes the project, Symmetry is a vigorous, electric, restless exploration of ideas on the bleeding edge of instrumental sound. Analog synthesizers roll and crest, drums collide, keys cascade clear & crystalline. These themes evoke the phantasmic images that inspired them: urgent and ethereal, sinister & romantic. It’s a neo-noir epic of pink fog & femme fatales hidden behind rain drenched windshields after dark.


A1. Introduction

A2. City Of Dreams

A3. Over The Edge

A4. The Night Shift

A5. Paper Chase

A6. Outside Looking In

B1. Midnight Sun

B2. Behind The Wheel

B3. Thicker Than Blood

B4. A Sort Of Homecoming

B5. Winner Take All

C1. Death Mask

C2. Jackie’s Eyes

C3. The Fading Faces

C4. Mind Games

C5. The Maze

C6. Threshold

D1. Flashback

D2. Blood Sport

D3. Survival Instinct

D4. Hall Of Mirrors

D5. Eulogy

D6. The Messenger

E1. Love Theme

E2. Through The Gauntlet

E3. Ghost Town

E4. Cruise Control

E5. Wave Goodbye

E6. Magic Gardens

E7. An Eye For An Eye

F1. The Point Of No Return

F2. Cremation

F3. The Nightshift (Reprise)

F4. Memories Are Forever

F5. Echoes Of The Mind

F6. Streets Of Fire

Produced By Johnny Jewel & Nat Walker

Artwork By Johnny Jewel




There are no reviews yet.

Leave a customer review
Close search


Back To Top