skip to Main Content



Out of stock

SKU: FTH366DINK Category:


  • Exclusive transparent blue vinyl
  • Exclusive bonus 7” with two tracks (A: Take It Or Leave It / B: Hold On (Tom Waits cover)
  • Exclusive signed postcard
  • Hand numbered sleeve
  • Download code
  • Limited to just 300 copies!!!


Squirrel Flower – the moniker of Ella O’Connor Williams – announces I Was Born

Swimming, her debut album, out January 31st on Full Time Hobby (Polyvinyl in

the US), and presents the lead single/video, ‘Red Shoulder’. The album’s title was

inspired by Williams’ birth on August 11th 1996 – the hottest day of the year – born

still inside a translucent caul sac membrane, surrounded by amniotic fluid.

Throughout the 12 songs, landscapes change and relationships shift. The album’s

lyrics feel like effortless expressions of exactly the way it feels to change —

abstract, determined and hopeful.

Squirrel Flower’s music is ethereal and warm, brimming over with emotional depth

but with a steely eyed bite and confidence in it’s destination. The band on I Was

Born Swimming plays with delicate intention, keeping the arrangements natural and

light while Williams’ lead guitar is often fiercely untethered. The album was tracked

live, with few overdubs, at The Rare Book Room Studio in New York City with

producer Gabe Wax (Adrienne Lenker, Palehound, Cass McCombs). The

musicians were selected by Wax and folded themselves into the songs effortlessly.

At the heart of the album lives Williams’ haunting voice and melancholic, soulful


The sounds expand and contract over diverse moods, cutting loose on the heavier

riffs of ‘Red Shoulder’. “‘Red Shoulder’ is a song about destabilisation and

dissociation,” explains Williams. “Something soft and tender becomes warped and

sinister, turning into sensory overload and confusion. How can something so lovely

turn painful and claustrophobic? The song ends with a heavy and visceral guitar

solo, attempting to reground what went awry.”

Williams comes from a deep-rooted musical family tree. Her grandparents were

classical musicians who lived in the Gate Hill Co-op, an artistic cooperative from

upstate New York that grew out of Black Mountain College. Ella’s father, Jesse

Williams, spent most of his life as a touring jazz and blues performer and educator,

and lends his bass playing to the album. Growing up in a family of hard working

musicians fostered a love of music and started Williams down her own musical

path. As a child, Williams adopted the alter ego of Squirrel Flower. A couple years

later, she began singing with the Boston Children’s Chorus while studying music

theory and teaching herself to play the guitar. As a teen, she discovered the Boston

DIY and folk music scenes and began writing, recording, and performing her own

songs, now returning to Squirrel Flower as her stage name.

Sheer determination and belief quickly saw her make a name for herself in this

newly discovered scene. Doing everything from making videos and artwork to the

production of her music herself she recorded two EP’s and began touring,

appearing on bills with the likes of Moses Sumney, Lucy Dacus, Frankie Cosmos,

Jay Som, Julien Baker, Soccer Mommy and Big Thief. During this time the signature

artful songcraft heard on I Was Born Swimming was formed.

Pre-order the I Was Born Swimming CD/LP including a limited edition Dinked

version which features an exclusive 7″ here:

I Was Born Swimming tracklist:

1. I-80

2. Red Shoulder

3. Slapback

4. Eight Hours

5. Headlights

6. Honey, Oh Honey!

7. Seasonal Affective Disorder

8. Home

9. Streetlight Blues

10. Rush

11. Belly of the City

12. I Was Born Swimming

Additional information

Weight300 g
Dimensions31.5 × 31.5 × .05 cm
Close search


Back To Top