THE LONG GOOD FRIDAY Original Soundtrack



SKU: SILLP1489 Categories: , ,

Product Description


Single LP on 180g Black Vinyl
Newly Remastered in Stereo
Francis Monkman’s dazzlingly crafted score to one of the truly great British gangster thrillers appears in stereo on vinyl for the first time, newly remastered for this release.

After graduating from the Royal Academy of Music the accomplished composer and multi-instrumentalist formed Curved Air in 1970, one of the defining British progressive rock bands. In 1979 he joined the ‘super session-men group’ Sky, a line-up of outstanding musicians that included John Williams on guitar, Herbie Flowers on bass, Tristan Fry on drums and Kevin Peek on guitar. The first two albums from this virtuoso stellar line-up delivered a number nine and number one album respectively. These musicians remained an important element for this soundtrack, all bar John Williams featuring on the December 1979 recording sessions. The result is timelessly cool, with a theme that still graces DJ decks today.

“Francis Monkman’s synthy, saxy theme remains nail-bitingly catchy. Sheer brilliance.” Mark Kermode (The Guardian 2015)


A Side
1. The Long Good Friday – Main Title
2. Overture
3. The Scene Is Set
4. At The Pool
5. Discovery
6. The Icehouse

B Side
1. Talking To The Police
2. Guitar Interludes
3. Realization
4. Fury
5. Taken
6. The Long Good Friday – End Title

No additional images.