The Connection



Product Description

Known to some as La French, the epic crime drama The Connection is the critically acclaimed and stylish ’70s-period crime thriller inspired by true events. We’re absolutely thrilled to be releasing this absolute beast of a soundtrack; the ultimate cool compilation spanning four decades and featuring classic songs by The Velvet Underground, Blondie, Townes Van Zandt… it’s hard to pick out highlights as there genuinely isn’t a bad track on here.

The Max Richter / Dinah Washington track alone — an incredible mix of Washington’s vocals from ‘This Bitter Earth’ and Richter’s incredible composition ‘On The Nature of Daylight’ — is one of the best things you’ll hear this year. Lykke Li contributes ‘Jerome,’ a fantastic ’60s tinged pop song that sounds like a lost Phil Spector composition. On top of all that, add in a selection of incredible French pop — imagine if Starlord’s Awesome Mix: Volume 1 had better taste & a European counterpart, it would be this album.

Side A
01. Sheila – Bang Bang (3:14)
02. Lykke Li – Jerome (3:14)
03. Rocky & The Riddlers – Flash and Crash (2:47)
04. Serge Gainsbourg – Comic Strip (2:11)
05. Al Wilson – The Snake (3:29)
06. Venus Gang – Love To Fly (2:13)
07. The Velvet Underground – I’m Set Free (4:03)

Side B
08. Mike Brant – C’est comme ça que je t’aime (3:20)
09. Yeyevollegaz – Ces bottes sont faites pour marcher (2:38)
10. Guillaume Roussel – La Pieuvre (2:35)
11. Blondie – Call Me (3:30)
12. Kim Wilde – Cambodia (3:58)
13. Dinah Washington / Max Richter – This Bitter Earth / On The Nature Of Daylight (6:18)
14. Townes Van Zandt – Waitin’ Around To Die (2:42)


RED vinyl

No additional images.