Slop ‘n’ Mash 1 (Early Jamaican classics 1958-1962)



SKU: 2090504001274 Categories: ,

Product Description

The first volume in a series of great rocksteady / ska / reggae compilations from mysterious new label Slop And Mash. Each collection features top notch singers from the era – Owen Gray, Derrick Morgan, Alton Ellis, Laurel Aitken and Lord Lebby are all here on volume 1 backed by / alongside the top studio session players. Pressed on 140-gram black vinyl, and housed in a sleeve with lovely retro 1960s style artwork, this series is a must for fans of early JA sounds.


1. Running Around – Owen Gray
2. I Pray For You – Derrick Morgan
3. Slop ‘n’ Mash – Jiving Juniors
4. You Win – Whisky
5. Let Me Dream – Alton & Eddy
6. Blackberry Brandy – Roland Alphonso
7. Crazy Dog – Beans
8. Stop, Look And Listen – Al T. Joe

1. Boogie In My Bones – Laurel Aitken
2. What Makes Money – Duke Reid & His Group
3. Tell Me Darling – Wilfred “Jackie” Edwards
4. Lost My Baby – Blues Busters
5. Dumplins – Byron Lee & The Dragonaries
6. Palm Of Victory – Azie Lawrence
7. One Kiss For My Baby – Lord Lebby

No additional images.