Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 12.43.22
Electronic / Synth / Ambient

Metavari – Symmetri (EXCLUSIVE)



Product Description

300 copies (COLOR ) shared variant with Mondo/Transmission/LITA


‘Symmetri’ is Metavari’s sophomore studio release led by electronic musician and composer, Nathaniel David Utesch, and debut studio LP on One Way Static Records. The work is a stand-alone edit of Metavari’s ‘Metropolis’ re-score from Record Store Day 2017; introducing new and reconfigured material in addition to selections from the soundtrack.

Metavari is the stage name of Indiana-based electronic musician Nathaniel David Utesch and is best described as the intersection of nostalgic electronics, ambient soundscapes and off-kilter synth pop music. Since 2008, Metavari have toured extensively in the US; sharing the stage with notable acts such as This Will Destroy You, Maserati, Tortoise, Titus Andronicus, Anamanaguchi, The Appleseed Cast & Small Black.

Written and produced over the course of 20 months, the lengthy writing time stretched across a whirlwind season surrounding the miscarriage of Nathaniel and his wife’s first pregnancy and coincidentally ended just after the success of their second. Nathaniel said of the writing, “The record was drenched in an incredibly dark season of our life and yet concluded at nearly the opposite. I quite literally finished the record with my newborn son in my arms.” While much of ‘Symmetri’ was written as a re-scoring of Fritz Lang’s ‘Metropolis,’ it’s still almost impossible not to hear the disparate tug and pull from Nathaniel’s personal experiences during the time of the recordings.

The LP comes packaged in a deluxe jacket with a custom die cut center hole & includes a digital download containing a bonus track from Metavari and remixes from Sarah Davachi, Diamondstein, Antoni Maiovvi, Makeup and Vanity Set, Taragana Pyjarama, and Umberto. The record also features guest vocals from Daniel Weyandt, singer of the seminal hardcore metal band, Zao. Available as an exclusive color vinyl variant (limited to 300 copies milky clear and indigo blue vinyl).

Side A

01. Assemblé en Miroir I

02. Messages

03. Futura

04. Unterirdisch

05. Byrani Rom Ascii

06. Indigo

07. Moloch!

08. Assemblé en Miroir II

Side B

09. Babel

10. Hymns

11. Trouble

12. Tetraheathen

13. Eternal Return, pt. 1

14. Witchhunt (feat. Daniel Weyandt)

15. Assemblé en Miroir III

Digital Download

16. Tetraheathen (Sarah Davachi Remix) [Bonus Track]

17. Messages (Umberto Remix) [Bonus Track]

18. Babel (Taragana Pyjarama’s Scales Remix) [Bonus Track]

19. Byrani Rom Ascii (Antoni Maiovvi’s Dream Within a Dream of the Winged Pig Mix) [Bonus Track]

20. Tetraheathen (Diamondstein Remix) [Bonus Track]

21. Witchhunt (Makeup and Vanity Set Remix) [Bonus Track]

22. Assemblé en Miroir IV [Bonus Track]

No additional images.